Hey Unemployed Media Professionals! Oh hai, I am one. kthx.

Hey Unemployed Media Professionals! Read This Post Before You Apply For An Online Media Job!

“A lot of mid-career professionals are getting laid off from traditional media outlets on a daily basis and looking to online media for a new start, and that’s awesome.”

Yes ma’am. That’s me. And that’s why I’m here.

I’m a media sales guy by education and by trade. But even before all the air got let out of the bubble, I was done with that. Thus, I’m pretty familiar with all the suggestions on here, either by already knowing (1, 2, and 3) or making the mistakes myself (4 and 5). I wouldn’t say I just expected to be handed a lower-tier job in online media and marketing just because I was the young hip dude in the office full of old-school radio professionals, but I figured I could at least weasel myself in somewhere. But apparently hawking :30 second spots, banner ads, and event sponsorships for the ‘evil empire’ of Clear Channel Communications amidst all the other online knowledge I’d attained wasn’t enough to make that work.

I am thoroughly convinced that my first “real” (and by that I mean something I use this here NMS MA to fetch, not just my current skillset) interactive media job either doesn’t exist right now or only exists in very small quantities. The blog did note one book that I want to read that I haven’t yet: Don’t Make Me Think by Steve Krug. Companies are just starting to realize that usability design and writing is going to be the most valuable piece of the puzzle in a new era of communication. That’s where I think I fit into the puzzle. In terms of online media, I know where my skills are, and more importantly, I know where I can be beat. I am not a designer or an artist, I’m a hack. With practice and education, I can be good, but there will always be someone better than me. I can sell, but I don’t have the passion for the game. I am good at writing conversationally. I know, sounds trivial, right? But as the blog points out, many journalists are spending time and money figuring out how to transition themselves from print writers to electronic media writers. Couple this with yet-to-be-learned technical skills – some design and CSS, SEO and analytics (which I’m a bit familiar with) – apply it to designing and writing spaces on the web that people use, and bam, that’s usability design in my book.

But, Brian, you say, you’re an ad guy! What gives?

Here’s the thing. Usability is not native just to search engines anymore. As advertising further merges with our daily interaction with media, marketing campaigns will continue to move away from traditional advertisement and further into two-way communication between brand and consumer. But these consumers must be considered users of an interface, and as we read about in both readings for this week, opacity and transparency will be the key goals. So even though these job postings are not exactly what I’m talking about doing here, they are attainable goals for beginning the process.

Ex. 1

Arc / Leo Burnett: Creative Project Manager

Arc Worldwide has an immediate need for highly skilled Project Managers to organize and lead creative development efforts for interactive marketing solutions. This is a key position that requires significant interaction with creative and project management teams. Are you ready for the challenge?

Responsibilities & Activities:

  • Manage delivery of creative assets for individual projects
  • Communicate and drive acceptance of project deadlines, milestones, and dependencies.
  • Make strategic and tactical decisions about how the project tasks will be completed day to day
  • Negotiate with creative team to determine feasibility of proposed creative ideas relative to overall project budget, timeline, and other constraints, including technical platform
  • Create planning schedule from creative brief through asset hand-off
  • Facilitate creative reviews (client and legal), ensuring creative assets reflect final approved content, including changes
  • Forecast project team creative resources based on current creative project plan tasks
  • Facilitate routing and handoff of all creative assets to the build and QA teams prior to the Delivery phase
  • Actively track project status, progress, risks and issues, escalating to project stakeholders as appropriate

Skills & Attributes:

  • Passionate leader who values and fosters collaborative, cohesive teams
  • Outstanding oral and written communication skills
  • Strong analytical problem-solving and decision-making skills
  • Maintains composure under pressure

Basic Qualifications:

  • Bachelor’s degree or equivalent
  • Minimum 2 years experience working closely within an agency creative team, and enthusiasm for working within the creative process

Ex. 2

Experian Interactive Media: Interactive Designer
Experian Interactive Media seeks an Interactive Designer to join its Consumer Experience team. This position reports to the Director of Consumer Experience, and works closely with Product Managers, Business Analysts, Project Managers, Engineering, and Quality Assurance.

Summary:

The ideal candidate will be:
*a detail-oriented, hands-on, UI Designer with knowledge of web-usability and the ability to influence consumer behavior through design
*a strong communicator with a commitment to producing consistent, high quality designs
*successful working both independently and in a highly collaborative and open setting

Responsibilities:
*Assisting with UI Design for multiple products
*Managing a pipeline of partner logos and graphics
*Designing web pages for product prototypes
*Gather and organize ideas from sources including Product Management, competitors, research, industry best practices and internal brainstorming
*Translate these ideas into visual designs ready for testing or implementation

Requirements:
*Ability to multi-task in a fast paced and open working environment
*Write convincing functional and design specifications
*Assist with developing use cases to accompany visual designs
*Familiarity with user-centered design and online consumer testing methodologies
*Interest in scientific aspects of consumer behavior and analytical measurement
*Experience in visual design and interactive design for the web
*Skilled in design software for the web (e.g. Fireworks, Photoshop, Illustrator, Flash and Dreamweaver)
*Understanding of web technologies and online software development practices
*Experience with HTML, CSS, and JavaScript a plus

Leave a Reply

